Course Description

Pupils in year 9 follow the National Curriculum. The course is broken down into 8 distinct units which cover the National Curriculum Attainment targets in:

  • Number
  • Algebra
  • Geometry
  • Handling Data and
  • Using and Applying.

Pupils are set into 5 ability sets across the year. The contents of each unit are differentiated according to the different ability groups. Pupils are assessed through four tests to ensure that they are making appropriate progress. Pupils have opportunities throughout the course to investigate and solve a variety of problems and will be expected to complete investigation tasks and write up using mathematical symbols, diagrams and graphs, explaining clearly any conclusions made.

Independent Learning

All pupils will complete assessment pieces of homework throughout the course which will be diagnostically marked.  These are set as a 'double' piece of homework. In addition to this MyMaths homeworks will be set with Year 9 pieces taking no longer than 40 minutes.


Pupils will complete four tests on the topics completed since September.